Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
11 janvier 2011 2 11 /01 /janvier /2011 15:00




Origine du Groupe : Island
Style : Classic , Electronic , Expérimental
Sortie : 2010

From official site :

An accompaniment to the animated film 'Varmints', this is a collection of achingly beautiful orchestral work balanced on a bed of Jóhannsson's patented electronics. Surprisingly however, the film itself is not intrinsic to the enjoyment of the music; Jóhannsson's score stands alone perfectly as a haunting collection of tracks.

As with most soundtracks, the album is made up of a selection of repeating themes which appear and disappear throughout the record; Jóhannsson manages to approach this with such subtlety you can't always even tell that a familiar theme is drifting in and out of each track. The clouds of ambience and growls of synthesizer that underpin the lilt of the orchestra are crucial to the record and give a similar warmth similar to what made 'Englaborn' so very special. These pieces are memorable and deeply moving, and within one listen you could almost visualise the film itself – or at least a home made version. Soundtrack or not, Jóhannsson has created yet another peerless collection of electronic/classical vignettes you won't be forgetting any time soon.


Tracklist :   
01 Theme
02 City Building
03 Entering The City
04 The Flat
05 Rainwater
06 Pods
07 The Gift
08 Dying City
09 Escape
10 Inside The Pods
11 End (Snowing)


Tell a Friend

Partager cet article