Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
20 février 2011 7 20 /02 /février /2011 11:00




Origine du Groupe : Australia
Style : Alternative Rock , Indie , Psychedelic
Sortie : 2010

From http://www.interbangrecords.com

Australian songwriter and producer Hugo Race is a prolific and visionary performer, musician, writer and producer. Originally from Melbourne, Australia, Hugo’s creative journey has given him ‘world citizen’ status, having lived over the course of the last 25 years in Sicily, France, Germany, the UK and the USA. Hugo’s songwriting draws on pop culture from rock n roll to soul to delta blues to avantguard electronic soundscapes.

First introduced to the international stage as a founding member of Nick Cave’s Bad Seeds (he appears on the debut, “From Her to Eternity”, and features on several other Bad Seed’s cds and various compilations), Hugo then founded the seminal Australian art-punk cult band The Wreckery (1985), released through the White, Rampant, Citadel and Normal labels. (A Wreckery retrospective,”Past Imperfect”, was released in  2008 through Memorandum/Fuse Records, Sydney).

In Italy, Hugo has produced albums for Cesare Basile (amongst many others), appeared live and in studio with Afterhours, and created genre-bending projects like The Merola Matrix and Sepiatone (with Marta Collica).

With his band The True Spirit and his various Helixed productions and collaborations, Hugo defies any easy label and has staked out a creative territory between rock, experimental and psychedelia.

Hugo Race’s most recent releases are with the internationally acclaimed “BKO” by Dirtmusic (recorded in Africa and released by Glitterhouse Records), the electro-acoustic instrumental “Between Hemispheres” (Gusstaff Records), and the French/USA Lilium’s new album “Felt”, (Glitterhouse).

Hugo Race’s new solo album Fatalists is raw, moody and lyrically driven. Recorded in Italy, guitarist Antonio Gramentieri (Sacri Cuori, Delavega), Arizonan violinist Vicky Brown (Desoto Caucus, Lilium), percussionist Diego Sapignoli (Sacri Cuori, Delavega), and Dutch bassist Erik Van Loo (Willard Grant Conspiracy) create an acoustic, melodic sound that casts Hugo’s songwriting and voice in a whole new light.

“We all met up in an old villa in rural Italy on a cold autumn day. I’d just finished a month on tour with the True Spirit and in the tour’s closing stages had come down with pneumonia. Because most of the songs I had for Fatalists were about death, this seemed a fitting background, and for the duration of the recording sessions I was laid-up with a fever in a room adjacent to the studio. I could hear the band tracking my songs but couldn’t participate. So the sessions were really produced by Antonio and the other Fatalists, and they gave the songs a different slant. Having self-produced my recordings for a very long time I thought that here was a chance to step back and let a whole new album materialize, if I could just trust in the process. Cal and Andy mixed the album at the Mill studio on a hill overlooking the Southern Ocean where the wind blows in off the grey water with a cold metallic edge. There are few neighbours, and like the Cosabeat studio in the Romagna, a sense of nature and desolation and human insignificance predominates. I never planned to make this record, it just kind of happened – hence the title Fatalists – because often fate has other plans for us…”


Tracklist :       
1 - Call Her Name (5:51)
2 - Too Many Zeroes (3:17)
3 - Slow Fry (4:31)
4 - Will You Wake Up (4:36)
5 - Come Over (4:32)
6 - Serpent Egg (4:02)
7 - In The Pines (3:29)
8 - Nightvision (6:07)


Partager cet article