Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
25 mai 2011 3 25 /05 /mai /2011 11:00


Origine du Groupe : V.A India
Style : Psychedelic Funk Groove , World Music , Experimental
Sortie : 2010

From http://psychevanhetfolk.homestead.com

This album gives a rather consistent listen and is an introduction with some examples of the influences of psych and funk into Indian popular music mostly, or in combination in Indian music, most often this is with a Bollywood music relationship. They have compiled it well although I would have preferred not to have the already over-exposed sitar beat rock track from the German Klaus Doldinger here. They have also based themselves on other compilations and include a few tracks from these sources, just like on the previously reissued compilations from the label, which for a part sounds a bit lazy, but because of its fit well together character more easily forgiveable. Essential were of course the Simla Beat tracks, which were already to be found on the Normal records compilation (from which the Black Beats was very good indeed and the X'Lents instrumental is an essential piece of Indian psychedelia). A whole lecture on their psych-funk theme is included, although this is just a fragment of their own interests and it is not something of a real historical overview or something overly important for the Indian music itself which had even a lot more to cover. After the two Simla Beat tracks are a few interesting psych-beat and psych-funk contributions by Kayandji Anandji. R.D.Burmann received already some attention and compilations in music lover circles. There are a few important crossover mixes added. A nice find is Bappi Lahari's “Everybody dance with me”, an erotic dance pop song with the bass line of IB's “In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida”. Like the compilers say, the Usha Kanna's edited track is a good example of psych-funk, but also a bit short as an idea. Sapan Jagmohan's track sounds equally interesting. A last psych track is from Atomic Forest from the Obsession LP which I sadly missed, here with a very American heavy psych sound with a cover of a Deep Purple track. Outstandingly different is Hemant Bhosle (with Asha) with an interesting crossover of 60s psych with cosmo organ mixed with a more recent disco beat. The fact that you can find the front covers of the original albums makes this compilation also more interesting for your collection. The booklet is more like complete book.

Tracklist :
01. The Black Beats - The Mod Trade
02. X'Lents - Psychedelia
03. Kalyanji Anandji - Somebody to Love (edit)
04. Kalyanji Anandji - Bairaag Dance Music (edit)
05. R.D. Burman - Dance Music From Hare Rama Hare Krishna
06. R.D. Burman - Lekar Ham Diwana Dil (feat. Asha Bhosle and Kishore Kumar)
07. R.D. Burman - Freak Out Music
08. Bappi Lahari - Everybody Dance With Me
09. Kalyanji Anandji - Dharmatma Theme Music
10. Asha Bhosle With R.D. Burman - Dum Maro Dum Live (edit)
11. Usha Khanna - Hotel Incidental Music (edit)
12. Klaus Doldinger - Sitar Beat
13. Sapan Jagmohan - Meri Aakhon Mein Ek Sapna Hai (feat. Mohd. Rafi and Pankaj Mittra) (edit)
14. Keith Kanga - Butterfly (Version Two) (edit)
15. Atomic Forest - Mary Long
16. Usha Khanna - Tera Jasia Pyara Koi Nahin
17. Hemant Bhosle - Phir Teri Yaad (feat. Asha Bhosle)
18. R.D. Burman - Aaj Mera Dil (feat. Asha Bhosle)
19. Kalyanji Anandji - Hum Tumhe Chate Hain (feat. Manhar and Anand) (edit)
20. Ilaiyaraaja - Thanimayil (feat. Vani Jairam and Chorus)


Partager cet article