Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
26 mars 2010 5 26 /03 /mars /2010 11:00
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_gB1532_vmUM/SzAR5yDHqSI/AAAAAAAABsI/-Vf-zmGahcE/s400/zzafrikaundergroundja_101b.jpgNote :

Sortie : 2002
Style : Jazz funk , Fusion

Tracklist :
1. Lament
2. Chapita - Dick Khoza
3. Half N Half - Zacks Nkosi
4. Thunder into Our Hearts - Jabula
5. I la I La
6. I Remember You - Mike Makhalemele
7. Way It Used to Be
8. African Live [Moto] - Dick Khoza
9. Wilderness - Zacks Nkosi
10. Musikana - Harari
11. Blues for Yusef - Lionel Pillay


Really wonderful stuff -- a collection of totally unique grooves that won't cross over with any of your other African funk compilations! The focus here is on jazz, not funk or soul -- and the set features a wealth of great tracks pulled from obscure South African records of the late 70s and early 80s. Funky fusion is definitely in command here -- and the overall feel of the tracks is similar to some of the best European funky fusion of the 70s, fused with elements of African percussion and instrumentation -- creating a true crossover of styles that crackles with a freshness that will have you coming back to this one again and again! Most tracks are instrumental -- and the grooves here are a lot more complicated than on your average James Brown-inspired African funk tracks, a mix of strident modal modes, and other choppier funkier riff-heavy tunes. Plus, the whole thing's put together with the righteous intelligence of all the other Counterpoint titles -- with great notes, incredible sound, and an approach that will easily take you to a whole new musical world! Titles include "I Remember You" by Mike Makahalemele, "Half N Half" by Zacks Nkosi, "Chapita" by Dick Khoza, "Lament" by Movement In The City, "Blues For Yusef" by Lionel Pillay, "The Way It Used To Be" by Pacific Express, and "La I La I La" by George Lee Larnyoh.
Partager cet article