Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
24 juillet 2010 6 24 /07 /juillet /2010 11:00


Note : ++


Origine du Groupe : Sierra Leone
Style : World Music , Reggae
Sortie : 2010

Formed in West African refugee camps, Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars have risen like a phoenix from the ashes of destruction to create this infectious and celebratory new record. Produced by Steve Berlin, renowned for his work with Los Lobos, Angélique Kidjo, Michelle Shocked, Rickie Lee Jones and Ozomatli, among others, Rise & Shine was recorded in Freetown, Sierra Leone and New Orleans, Louisiana. Much like the band members themselves, the residents of New Orleans know first hand both the bitterness of exile and the redemptive power of music, and the spirit of the Crescent City permeates this uplifting album.

Rise & Shine reflects how far the band has come in the past few years, after multiple international tours and recording experience with the likes of Aerosmith and Mavis Staples. With an expert producer at the helm, Sierra Leone's Refugee All Stars have realized a unique and seamlessly coherent sound: a fusion of traditional West African music and roots reggae, inflected with New Orleans styles. The album's 13 tracks embrace the wide array of musical influences the All Stars have encountered on their rise to international fame.

Tracklist :
1  Muloma (Let Us Be United) 
2 Global Threat
3 Oruwiebie / Magazine Bobo Medley  
4 Living Stone
5 Dununya (The World) 
6 Jah Mercy  
7 Tamagbondorsu   
8 Bute Vange  
9 Jah Come Down   
10 Bend Down the Corner   
11 Goat Smoke Pipe   
12 Gbrr Mani (Trouble)
13 Watching All Your Ways



Tell a Friend

Partager cet article