Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
21 juillet 2011 4 21 /07 /juillet /2011 11:00




Origine du Groupe : Japan
Style : Post Rock , Shoegaze , Alternative Rock , Experimental
Sortie : 2009

By McNutsack from http://mirr0rshades.blogspot.com

"sgt. bring their noise, emo, jazz and improv infused cinematic soundscapes back for their second mini album. This instrumental band melds a violin seamlessly into the thought evoking music into 42 minutes of bliss. It has only been a year since their last release, Stylus Fantasticus which was rated as one of the top 50 albums in 2008 by The Silent Ballet as well as the top 50 album list of 2008 from ZB's A-Z of J-Music. Their second mini-album capital of gravity is aptly titled as there is definitely a heavenly force of the likes of gravity which is pulling this band further into their musical groove. This could be due to the band returning to a 4 person lineup creating a new marketplace for original and creative ideas unleashing the potential masterpiece that was previously a brewing latency.

Not only has capital of gravity brought back their four member lineup, but it also is graced by multiple guest musicians such as Keisaku Nakamura (from kowloon and stim)(track 4 and 5) as well as the saxophonist Nobuo Ootani (track 5) who is a famous writer. This mini-album also features a rearranged version of "Ginga no Shasou kara" by Tyme (Tatsuya Yamada) which appeared on their first mini album in 2005. This song is a spaced out version of the original that adds another layer of freshness to this album. The cover artwork was done by mitchel who produces music videos for RUMI, TamakiROY, etc.

The album reverberates with amazing and powerful sounds which make this one of the most artistically crafted instrumental albums of 2009. sgt. simply has the artistic audacity and fine sense to produce another breathtaking release"

"After "Kalliope," the brief introduction, the band jump full force into "Apollo Program." It's a song that has all of the band's most bold hallmarks, from its relentlessly looping rhythms, to its fuzzed out guitars and heavily effected violin wails. "Teas of Na-Ga" brings in guest musician Keisaku Nakamura on piano, the first sign of Capital's broader sound pallet. The song quietly percolates along until the break mid-way in where the piano drops out and things get back to the usual frenetic pace. "Ant's Planet" pushes things into an overtly upbeat direction with, again, a jaunty piano riff, some squelchy synth noise and even a few hand-claps and sampled laughter.

The length of "Epsilon," 10 minutes and 20 seconds, and its proximity to the former peppy and (relatively) short song, should be easily recognized indicators of its corresponding "far out" ness. It is indeed the most free-form and improvisational track on Capitol, and even included another guest musician, Nobuo Ootani, on saxophone. The song does find a sort of coherence near the end as the band starts to gel back together, then again explodes into space at the end. It's also a great lead-in to the final track, a remix of "Ginga no Shasou kara," a song from the band's first release, by Tyme. Unlike so many other remixes, this one doesn't feel tacked on or at all out of place with the rest of the album. It's a muscular, throbbing space-out.

Capital of Gravity shows a band in full control of its skills, as well as its own vision. While the album does breathe a bit more than their previous releases, it is still very much under sgt.'s control."


Tracklist :
1. Kalliope (2:26)
2. Apollo Program (6:56)
3. Tears of na-ga (8:22)
4. Ant's planet (4:52)
5. Epsilon (10:18)
6. Ginga No Shasoh Kara (Reprise) (Tyme. Remix) (8:30)



Partager cet article