Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
26 octobre 2010 2 26 /10 /octobre /2010 11:00




Origine du Groupe : North America
Style : Electro , Electro-Acoustic , Glitch , IDM
Sortie : 2009

It's not so uncommon to see classically trained pianists turn to electronic music production. After all, it's not a huge stretch from the piano to a midi controller keyboard. It's considerably rarer to find producers who are actually cellists and violinists by training. But Rena Jones is certainly not your garden variety producer. She's a multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer with more than 20 years of classical violin study and 12 years of the cello behind her. That background is reflected in Indra's Web, her fourth solo album and the first on her newly established label, Cartesian Binary Recordings.

Indra's Web weaves together weighty downtempo electronica with swooning modern classical, with Jones backed up on more than half of the album by three string players from the New Millennium Orchestra. Jones is also credited with vocals, mixing, programming and Rhodes, and the album also features a live drummer, a clarinetist and a vocalist.

In addition to the graceful strings, the album is marked by a hefty bottom end and gently skittering percussion. And the intricate and spellbinding compositions, which do full justice to the album's name. Indra's Web is a metaphor found in Buddhism and Hinduism for "the structure of reality, representing the interconnectedness and interdependency of all things, describing a rich and diverse universe where infinitely repeated mutual relations exist between all its elements and entities."

That's as good a way as any to describe the music. It immediately grabs hold of you and sucks you in but the songs are not so easily digested on first listen. They're subtle and, like elaborate labyrinths, they take time to reveal themselves. You need to explore the nooks and crannies before you can find your way out. But they're beautiful, enchanted labyrinths, green and flowery, and time moves in hazy slow motion inside them.

I will resist the urge to discuss individual songs (except to say that the one-two punch of On the Drift and Point of Existence is a knockout). Suffice it to say that Indra's Web is an extremely rewarding album and unique in the way it combines beat-driven electronic music with classical moods. It's seamlessly done, blurring completely the lines between genres. It's as good an illustration as any of the inevitable futility of categorizing art. This is simply beautiful music that will endure.

by Tigon World

Tracklist :   
01. The Awe And The Wonder
02. Helix
03. Indra's Web
04. A Lullaby For Corvis
05. Ordinary Day
06. On The Drift
07. Point Of Existence
08. The Webs We Weave
09. What Once Was Will Be Again
10. The Problem Of Time
11. Helix (EVAC Remix)


Tell a Friend

Partager cet article