Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
13 octobre 2011 4 13 /10 /octobre /2011 18:00




Origine du Groupe : North America , Nederlands
Style : Electro , Electronic , Breakbeat , Abstract Hip Hop
Sortie : 2009

From Official Site :

Process Rebel (Other Weapons) is the pseudonym of Chad Jones (a.k.a. Totemplow)
After coming up as a song writing guitarist in Seattle during the peak of grunge (1989-93), Chad moved to San Francisco where he steered further left with his avant-experimental-guitar persona Totemplow. His full length cd 'Appluad The Execution' (Manifold Records 1996) received such comments as "one of the deepest...mixes around ...his work should garner wide critical acclaim", "...start buzzing now as Totemplow deserves your ears" and received a 4 finger rating in Alternative Press Magazine with favorable comparisons to Brian Eno, Bill Laswell and Harold Budd! Following 'Applaud' came appearances on compilations, small press cd eps, remixes (Mick Harris/Quoit & Aube among others) and 2 collaborative vinyl releases with the seminal NYC spawned DJ Spooky.

Enter Process Rebel.
First introduced with Hypnomadic in 2002 (alongside San Francisco dj Soulasaam), live cinemtaic dubs and sweaty drum machines mashed with jungle, drum&bass, ragga, hip-hop and "world" music frequently and beautifully destroyed SF warehouses and venues such as the Elbo Room, Mighty, 1015 Folsom, 550 Barneveld and The Fillmore. In the studio, Hypnomadic produced a handful of highly regarded (although unreleased) hybrid tunes and remixes for dub-rockers Systemwide and master beat boxer Kid Beyond. Process continued to produce tracks with Dub Gabriel for electro-hip-hop MCs Yo Majesty!; Dhruva/Sub Swara for euro-drum&bass MC Coppa; Indo-Electro wonder-kid Kush Arora and remixes for Madrid based reggae band Hotrop, NYC's south asian drum&bass collective Goonda, Electro-house producer/dj Eric D. Clark and Dancehall's White Label Menace MC Zulu.

In his mission to formulate and forge new sounds and styles Process conceived and produced Other Weapons 'Basis To Break This' (Destroy All Concepts - due Nov 2008). Tracked and mixed in San Francisco, Amsterdam, Chicago, New York, Edinburgh and Bratislava at studios such as Mark Pistel's (Meat Beat Manifesto/Consolidated) Room 5 and Hyde Street Studios over nearly 3 years. 'Basis' boldly and profoundly fuses sub-genre electronica with a unique rock/pop subliminal-ability. Where top voices from the bubbling worlds of dubstep, dub reggae, dancehall, drum&bass and breaks present fresh lyrical themes of social, cultural, spiritual rebellion, revolution and manifestation. This incredible line-up of guests and collaborators includes Juakali (Dub War/Sub Swara), Dr Israel (Praxis/Method of Defiance), MC Coppa (Stereotyp/Al-Haca), Profisee (Hexstatic), Sunru Skywaka (Bassnectar), Lady K (Dreadtone International/Heavyweight Dub Champion), 101VOiD, Kid Beyond, Mark Pistel, Mr Vigs, Kush Arora, Soulsalaam, João Hermeto, Neil Parek, Jeff Cleland, Neiel Cavin and David Perez.

Process Rebel currently lives in Amsterdam and continues to vandalize, scandalize and defy presumptions about electronic music genres.

Tracklist :
1. Backflow 03:47
2. So Decadent 03:00
3. Badder Better 04:37
4. We Will Rise 04:27
5. Who You Be 03:23
6. Pray For A Sound 03:50
7. Release Me 04:25
8. Bird Of Ill 03:46    
9. What A Ting 04:23
10.For The Living 02:08





Partager cet article