Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
25 juin 2012 1 25 /06 /juin /2012 12:00



Origine du Groupe : North America
Style : Jazz Fusion
Sortie : 2012

icon streaming


By John Fordham    From http://www.guardian.co.uk

This is bass-guitar star Marcus Miller's UK-tour repertoire of last month, plus a few bonuses, including the finely spun vocals of young New Yorker Gretchen Parlato and the rasping ones of Dr John on two tracks. For jazz-funk fans, it's paradise – Miller's arrangements have the clamouring horn parts, snappy basslines, raw guitar fills and whipcrack backbeats of this style meshing like a racing engine, and, of course, there are plenty of jawdropping bass solos. Creative obliqueness (of the kind Miller brought to Miles Davis's Tutu and Amandla albums in the 1980s) isn't always apparent. The assertive foregrounding of the bass guitar doesn't exactly enhance the potentially mysterious Brazilian feature Setembro, with its vocals by Parlato and Ruben Blades, and horn-punching groovers such as Cee Tee Eye veer to the formulaic. But the exhilaratingly funky Detroit, the lyrical (and Tutu/Amandla-related) Redemption, or the Headhunters-like Slippin' into Darkness confirm Miller's mastery of his particular world. Solos from Lincoln Centre trumpeter Sean Jones and excellent regular saxophonist Alex Han spark fireworks, sly quotes from Dizzy Gillespie and Bob Marley classics add spice, and there's a poetic solo-bass finale on I'll Be There.

Pour http://www.disquesdreyfus.com

Avec ce nouvel album studio, son premier depuis 5 ans, Marcus MILLER innove à nouveau. « Je sens qu’une page se tourne », dit Marcus Miller ; « Nos derniers héros disparaissent et nous entrons dans une ère nouvelle, à la fois politique et culturelle. Mais la Musique n’est pas aussi révolutionnaire que les médias. Il est temps pour une Renaissance. »

Avec un casting incroyable de jeunes musiciens, et des invités comme Dr. John, Gretchen Parlato et Ruben Blades, Marcus Miller crée un nouveau chef d’œuvre moderne pour une nouvelle ère.

Huit nouvelles compositions originales ainsi que cinq standards : « Slippin’ Into Darkness » par War, « Tightrop » par Janelle Monae, « Setembro » par Ivan Lins, et un hommage virtuose à Michael Jackson pour n’en nommer que quelques uns.

Tracklist :
01 – Detroit
02 – Redemption
03 – February
04 – Slippin’ Into Darkness
05 – Setembro (Brazilian Wedding Song) [feat. Gretchen Parlato & Ruben Blades]
06 – Jekyll & Hyde
07 – Interlude Nocturnal Mist
08 – Revelation
09 – Mr. Clean
10 – Goree (Go-ray)
11 – Cee-Tee-Eye
12 – Tightrope (feat. Dr. John)
13 – I’ll Be There

Partager cet article