Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
14 février 2011 1 14 /02 /février /2011 15:00




Origine du Groupe : Jamaica
Style : Reggae
Sortie : 1991 (1978)

By C.DANNY BREAKENRIDGE from http://www.marciagriffiths.net

The legendary Marcia Griffiths, the premier popular female vocalist of Jamaican music, is the undisputed champion for recording and releasing hit songs. She is the reigning Empress of Reggae Music. Marcia has been performing professionally for over 30 years, a major accomplishment by any measure, in any field of endeavor. Moreover, the consistency of hits that were released in this era, such as “Fire Burning”, “I Shall Sing”, “You Have Lost That Loving Feeling”, the recent remake “Tell Me Now,” and "Run Up And Down" clearly shows her potential to deliver and prevail.

The first song Marcia Griffiths ever recorded was “Wall Of Love” for producer, Coxone Dodd at Studio One. That song was never released. The first hit single Marcia released was “Feel Like Jumping”, written by Bob Andy, arranged by Jackie Mittoo and produced by Coxone Dodd on the Studio One ( Down Beat) label. Played in establishments like Britannia Bournemouth to the corner pub, the song was well liked all around. Her debut album “Marcia Griffiths at Studio One” was from the same label and producer. This album featured the first combination recording of Bob and Marcia - “Always Together”. Marcia’s second album for Studio One, titled “Truly” was released in 1998 by Heartbeat Records.

In 1970, as a duo, Marcia and Bob had an international hit with “Young Gifted And Black”. They earned a Silver Disc award and released an album with the same name; that album was produced by Harry J. and released by Trojan Records in England and Europe. “Young Gifted and Black” was subsequently released by Motown Records in the USA. The next year (1971) Bob and Marcia had another hit on the London and European charts with “The Pied Piper”. They released a second duet album with their hit as the title track, which was again produced by Harry J. for Trojan Records. After that period of success, Bob & Marcia chose to pursue separate careers. In 1974, Marcia released her second solo album “Sweet Bitter Love”, produced by Lloyd Charmers for Trojan Records.

Marcia has the distinction of having worked with a major record label, Philip Records, in Germany. She traveled to Germany where she recorded with a thirty- two piece orchestra. She even sang two songs in the German language, “Bleib By Sir" (Stay Right Here) and “Alles Ist Wunderschoen,” (Everything is Beautiful). She also recorded an album in Germany titled “ The Reggaes” featuring Marcia Griffiths backed by the Fab 5 band.

Marcia’s venture with a vocal group came about with the formation of the I-Threes. The I-Threes first came together with Judy Mowatt and Rita Marley singing harmony on stage for Marcia. They then started to record and began touring with Bob Marley and the Wailers, from the release of his “Natty Dread” album onwards.

As a vocal trio the I-Threes released two albums, “Beginning” in 1983 and “The I-Threes Sing Bob Marley” in 1995. As well as a number of singles.

Marcia recorded two albums for one of the rare female producers - Sonia Pottinger; “Naturally” in 1978 and “Stepping” in 1979. “Naturally” was singled out as Marcia’s best collection; seven of the ten tracks were written by Bob Andy (Keith Anderson).

In 1985 Sydney Crooks produced “Rock My Soul” which was distributed on the Tuff Gong label of 56 Hope Road. Her next album was “I love Music”, produced by Chris Stanley for Mountain Music. Then came the beautiful “Marcia” in 1989, produced by Donovan Germane for Penthouse Records. In 1990, the third album from Bob & Marcia, “Really Together” was released in London by I-Anka Records. That album contains songs which were produced by Bob Andy in the mid- seventies. The Fourth CD pairing Bob & Marcia, “ Sweet Memories,” was also produced by Bob Andy, and released in London, seven years later.

In 1991, came the revival of a single “Electric Boogie” that was written and produced by Bunny Wailer, some eight years earlier. It became a huge hit surfacing on the Bill Board Charts. Her album “Carousel” followed for Mango Records who had originally issued the single in 1983. “Carousel” was produced by the American team of The Jerks (Raphael, Joe & Larry).

During the 90’ several unauthorised albums appeared on the international market, that has still not been adequately or accurately accounted for.

In 1995 the popular album “Indomitable” was released, produced by Donovan Germain for the Penthouse Label. Two years later she released “Land of Love”, again for Donovan Germain. It was followed by the self-titled “Marcia Griffiths” in the -Collection Series, again on the Penthouse Label. Marcia’s most recent releases are the classic “Certified,” produced by Willie Lindo for VP Records and her newest release, a compilation entitled “Reggae Max”, released by Jet Star Records . She continues to record for Donovan Germain, Beres Hammond and Lloyd Campbell, and she is also doing some new works with Bob Andy.

Additionally, Marcia has recorded duets with, Bob Andy, Tony Gregory, Free I, Jimmy Riley, Bunny Rugs, Beres Hammond, Mikey Spice and Cocoa Tea.


Tracklist :
1. Steppin' Out In Babylon
2. Where Were You
3. Peaceful Woman
4. Sweet Bitter Love
5. Why There Is No Love
6. The Way I Feel About Yo,
7. I'm Hurting Inside
8. It's Impossible
9. Give And You Get
10. Where Is The Love


Partager cet article