Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
24 octobre 2012 3 24 /10 /octobre /2012 12:00



Origine du Groupe : U.K
Style : Instrumental , Electro Ambient , Cinematic
Sortie : 2012

icon streaming




From http://www.hiddenorchestra.com
Archipelago, out 1st October 2012, is our second album for Tru Thoughts. The album sees Joe Acheson, the musical mastermind behind Hidden Orchestra, continuing to explore and develop many themes that emerged on our debut, Night Walks, adding new ideas, guest players, instruments and found sounds; to name a few, listen up for tap-dancing, bagpipe drones, and Acheson stomping in snow and ice.

New instruments contributing to the many layers of Archipelago include the musical saw of multi-skilled cellist Su-a Lee (as heard to spine-tingling, sci-fi effect on “Vorka”); clarsach and electro-harp from Scottish folk musician Mary MacMaster; clarinet care of Czech musician/composer Floex; and Phil Cardwell’s uniquely versatile trumpet tones. In addition, you’ll hear a range of kantele and zithers which Joe (also a Sony-nominated radio producer and presenter) found and recorded at a school for the blind in Finland, while on location for a radio documentary.

In sampling found sounds and inspired improvisation, alongside his skills as a composer, Joe instills  an anchor to our earthly environment, while often conjuring an ethereal atmosphere and fragility that can whisk the listener off to another world; there are moments of feeling suspended somewhere in between. Just as the first album evoked, in Joe’s words, “the brooding reflections of a solitary walk through the still, restless night”, ‘Archipelago’ takes us on “a voyage around a group of islands – built from the same materials but each with its own character, its particular arrangement of rocks, shoreline, flora and fauna – amid seas and skies which are forever changing”. Joe captured bird and wave sounds on a boat and ashore on the tiny remote Scottish island North Rona, when he and Poppy accompanied her father, the artist Norman Ackroyd, on a trip to gather sketches for his etchings – including the one of nearby island Roaireim, which we’ve used on the album cover.

“It just sounds absolutely fantastic” – CERYS MATTHEWS (BBC 6MUSIC)
“An uncanny sound…a faded-film world of spectre-filled forests – we’re happy to premiere it.” – THE LINE OF BEST FIT
“Contemporary, atmospheric and accessible…being deservedly championed” – 5 STARS – BBC MUSIC MAGAZINE

Archipelago is released on Tru Thoughts Records on 1st October 2012, and in the US on 9th October. Denovali Records will once again release a gatefold deluxe version of the album on vinyl.

Tracklist :
01 – Overture
02 – Spoken
03 – Flight
04 – Vorka
05 – Hushed
06 – Reminder
07 – Seven Hunters
08 – Fourth Wall
09 – Disquiet
10 – Vainamoinen

Partager cet article