Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
25 juin 2010 5 25 /06 /juin /2010 15:00


Note :



Dennis Coffey (born in Detroit, Michigan) is an American guitarist, notable as a prominent studio musician for many soul and R&B recordings. Coffey learned to play guitar when he was 13 in Ontonagon County in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. At 15 he played on his first record session backing Vic Gallon on "I'm Gone" on the Gondola label. In the early 1960s he joined The Royaltones who had had hits with "Poor Boy" in 1958 and "Flamingo Express" in 1961. The Royaltones played sessions with other artists including Del Shannon. As a member of the Funk Brothers studio band, Coffey played on dozens of recordings for Motown Records, and introduced the wah-wah guitar sound to Motown producer Norman Whitfield's recordings. He also played on Edwin Starr's "S.O.S. (Stop Her on Sight)”, The Isley Brothers' "It's Your Thing", and Freda Payne's "Band of Gold". In addition, Coffey scored the blaxploitation film Black Belt Jones. In 1971, Coffey recorded Scorpio which was a million selling single and in 1972 Taurus, both with The Detroit Guitar Band. Since then, he has recorded several solo albums, most of them for the Sussex and Westbound labels.

In the early 70’s, Dennis Coffey, Motown ‘Funk Brother’ and super-session guitar man, seemed determined to write soundtracks – even if he wasn’t commissioned by a Hollywood studio. Indeed, the four studio albums he cut for the Sussex label between 1971 and 1974, from which this compilation is culled, are like a big personal advertisement for potential film score work.

Coffey’s raw, compressed guitar style – his big city breakbeat funk - certainly evokes a tough, urban landscape inhabited by tough, urban gangsters.

by Dj Uilson

Origine du Groupe : North America
Style : Funk , Soul
Sortie : 2006

Tracklist :
1. Son of Scorpio (3:07)
2. Guitar big band (3:26)
3. Theme from Enter the Dragon (3:08)
4. Chicano (5:07)
5. Lonely moon child (3:17)
6. Impressions of (4:37)
7. Ride Sally ride (3:02)
8. Taurus (2:54)
9. Scorpio (4:10)
10. Getting it on (2:24)
11. Big city funk (2:50)
12. Whole lot of love (2:26)
13. Garden of the moon (3:15)
14. Capricon's thing (2:09)
15. Outrageous (7:27)


Tell a Friend

Partager cet article