Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
15 mai 2010 6 15 /05 /mai /2010 12:30


Note :


Origine du Groupe : North America

Style : Rock , Garage , Fuzz , Soundtrack

Sortie : 1967

Tracklist :

   1. Blues theme (from the film "The Wild Angels")
   2. King Fuzz
   3. William Tell 1967
   4. Theme from Thunderball
   5. Action on the street
   6. Theme from The Wild Angels
   7. Theme from the Unknown
   8. Fuzz Theme
   9. Sorry 'bout that
  10. Ghost riders in the sky
  11. Runaway
  12. High noon
  13. Theme from A summer place 


"Blues Theme" is arguably the most famous track by Davie Allan & the Arrows. It was recorded quickly on Mike Curb's Tower label for the soundtrack to the move Wild Angels -- Peter Fonda's first biker flick and just before Easy Rider. With wild, screaming fuzz guitar and a surf beat, it signifies the sound of the L.A. Strip in 1967 and embodies -- in its two-minutes-and-ten-seconds -- all the cultural elements of its soundtrack -- the waning surf scene that traveled it, the muscle cars that roared through its lanes, the dawn of acid-crazed hippies floating down it, and the speed-drenched outlaw biker tribes who haunted it. The rest of the album is a literal pastiche of tracks that were issued under other names, slightly doctored for and from other soundtracks -- there were seven between the Arrows' first album, Apache '65, and Blues Theme -- or simply renamed. These include "King Fuzz," an instrumental remake of "The Twirl" by Harley Hatcher; "Theme From the Unknown," which had several names in earlier releases on 45 rpm's, and "Fuzz Theme," that was later re-titled "The Young World," for the soundtrack to Teen Rebellion. The CD reissue contains the album's original ten cuts, plus three bonus tracks, all of which are previously unissued -- with a smoking read of Del Shannon's "Runaway." The set is brief, but it is all killer, no filler. Sundazed does it again.

by Thom Jurek


Partager cet article