Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
23 décembre 2011 5 23 /12 /décembre /2011 12:00



Origine du Groupe : France
Style : Dark Jazz , Downbeat , Electronic Ambient
Sortie : 2011

From http://denovali.com

The bizarre Dark Jazz cabaret has opened again. Finally, after years of waiting, the 2nd full length of the sophisticated experimental collective from France will be released. It features vocals of Gaëlle Kerrien (YANN TIERSEN) and all lovers of DAVID LYNCH movies, artists like KILIMANJARO DARKJAZZ ENSEMBLE or BOHREN UND DER CLUB OF GORE and blue cigarette smoke in dark bars will exult again.

Métamanoir sees the band shift from their smooth, minimal and instrumental landscapes on the debut record Parole De Navarre to a more lively and rich sound. Always based upon improvisation and sound research, the solo parts of their music are now embodied by vocals.

The Quartet invited several musicians and singers to record, giving a phantomatic sound with oboe, clarinet, whitewashed drones popping out of the songs. The sheer chants of Zalie Bellacicco – who appeared on the debut album - the deep tone of Ronan Mac Erlaine and the crystal-clear voice of Gaëlle Kerrien (Yann Tiersen's singer on his last Mute album) interlaces with the still dark jazz of the band.

Always influenced by classic 50s cool jazz and the more contemporary noise and experimental styles, the Quartet and his guests built a dreamy card castle who swing and grow deeply rooted in fierce strangeness of David Lynch movies.

Métamanoir has been recorded in their native Britanny country, deep west of France, a land swept by climatic inconstancy fed by wind, rain and mystery. A place which gives the music an overwhelming but beautiful darkness.

Tracklist :
01 Une Petit Cellier
02 Eux Exquis Acrostole
03 Ma Insaisissable Abri
04 Sa Prodigieux Hermitage
05 Le Implacable Gentilhommière
06 Elle Agréable Rendez-Vous de Chasse
07 Mon Tragique Chartreuse
08 La Terrible Palais
09 Il Mélodieux Manoir





dale cooper quartet & the dictaphones - 10 june 2011, christuskirche bochum - I from thepostrock.de

Partager cet article