Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
9 mai 2011 1 09 /05 /mai /2011 11:00






Origine du Groupe : Spain
Style : Flamenco , Jazz , Guitar , Instrumental , World Music
Sortie : 2009

By Luigi from http://lascintasrecuperadas.blogspot.com

Carles Benavent and Josemi Carmona have locked themselves up in a recording studio and have recorded "Sumando", a happy encounter between flamenco and jazz. Each of them contributes what he has learnt during a long musical career; the end product are nine songs that do not stray from the rhytmic pattern or the emotion of flamenco. Chick Corea and Diego are featured as special guest artists.
"Sumando" (Adding) is the first joint work by Carles Benavent and Josemi Carmona. The jazz bass player and the guitarist of Ketama have brought together their wide-ranging musical experiences to bring to life a flamenco-jazz record. It features nine themes that were composed and performed by themselves, with the accompaniment of other renowned musicians, from both the jazz and flamenco scenes, among whom those who stand out are Chick Corea and Diego el Cigala.
In "Sumando", the bass and guitar are the protagonists of this happy coming together. However, these instruments and musicians are backed by other musicians such as Jorge Pardo (flute), Tino di Geraldo (drum kit), Juan Carmona Jr. (percussion), Bandolero (palmas, rhythmic hand-clapping) and Piraña (percussion). Moreover, Carles Benavent also plays the Ebow, keyboards, mandola and cittern; and Josemi Carmona plays the flamenco guitar, the acoustic guitar, the mandola and palmas.
Benavent and Carmona contribute everything they have learnt during their long musical careers to "Sumando". Carles started to open up new horizons for current Spanish music in the 1970s with the band Música Urbana. Since then, he has become a reference on the jazz and flamenco-jazz scenes. His works have had an international repercussion through his cooperation with Miles Davis, Paco de Lucía, Quincy Jones and Chick Corea.
Josemi Carmona possesses all the flamenco flavour of the Habichuelas and contributes all the baggage from his time in Ketama. And Josemi was able to add the experience of his encounters with international musicians like Toumani Diabate, Danny Thompson, Michel Camilo, Cheb Khaled and Caetano Veloso, among others, to the cross-breeding that Ketama’s flamencoised salsa pop already represented. Furthermore, "Sumando" is Josemi’s first recording work after Ketama

Tracklist :
01. Sencillito 3:01
02. La garza 6:22
03. Dama 4:46
04. Skely 3:37
05. Soleó 5:05
06. Amic Joan 4:32
07. El Galleta 4:31
08. Okinawa 3:45
09. Lupeando (a la memoria de Jaco) 3:29
10. Lupeando II 2:17


Partager cet article