Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
23 février 2012 4 23 /02 /février /2012 11:00



Origine du Groupe : U.K
Style : Electro , Electronic , Trip Hop , Remix
Sortie : 2012

From http://ninjatune.net

Black Sands came out in 2010 to almost universal critical acclaim and worldwide commercial success. Si Green aka Bonobo moved from being an underground producer of impeccable credentials to a poster boy for a new take on electronic music – contemporary and edgy but also soulful, song-based, sometimes lush but always emotional.

Black Sands Remixed gathers together a group of like-minded musicians and producers to interpret this classic album. Most of the material here has never been heard before (versions of a couple of the pieces were used as part of Ninja’s 20th anniversary XX campaign) and has been gathered with assistance from renowned DJ and label-head Alexander Nut. Recent Brainfeeder signing Lapalux kicks things off with a meticulous, sensuous re-work of “Prelude”. Banks fills “The Keeper” with spooky atmospherics. Cosmin TRG re-imagines “Kiara” as delicate heartbeat-house. Floating Points spaces “Eyesdown” out and adds to the groove, while ARP101 (better known as D&B producer Alix Perez) gives the tune an electronic re-lick and DELS adds heartfelt lyricism to the original.

Later in the record, Machinedrum turns the same tune into hyperactive percussion and echoed loops of sound. FaltyDL shows a subtle, understated exercise in rhythm and atmosphere for his re-work of “All In Forms”. Mark Pritchard lets in the air on “Stay The Same”, to create delicate, dub-soul. Mike Slott fiddles with the pitching on “All In Forms” to create robot emotion. Blue Daisy cuts up and plays with Andreya Triana’s vocals until “Stay The Same” really is “Not Quite The Same”. Duke Dumont finishes the record with an incredible use of ambience and orchestral build on his ‘reconstruction’ of “Grains of Sand”. Bonobo himself makes two contributions. “Ghost Ship” (originally given away to promote the XX celebrations) reminds the world of Si Green’s obvious talents, combining as it does a classic Motown shuffle with lashings of wobbling bass. “Brace Brace” is, quite simply, beautiful, showcasing once again his grasp of instrumentation and tone.

Tracklist :
01 – Prelude (Lapalux’s Finger On The Tape Remix)
02 – The Keeper (Banks Remix)
03 – Kiara (Cosmin TRG Remix)
04 – Eyesdown (Floating Points Remix)
05 – Eyesdown (ARP 101 Remix)
06 – Eyesdown (ft. Andrea Triana & DELS)
07 – All In Forms (FaltyDL Remix)
08 – Ghost Ship
09 – Stay The Same (Mark Pritchard Remix)
10 – Eyesdown (Machinedrum Remix)
11 – All In Forms (Mike Slott Remix)
12 – Stay The Same (Blue Daisy ‘Not Quite The Same’ Remix)
13 – Brace Brace
14 – Black Sands (Duke Dumont’s ‘Grains Of Sand’ Reconstruction Edit)

Bonus Remixes:
01 – Nightlite (Zero dB Reconstruction)
02 – Pick Up (Fourtet Remix)
03 – Between The Lines (Nostalgia 77 Remix)
04 – The Keeper (Grasscut Bitter Peace Remix)
05 – Nightlite (Bonobo Remix)
06 – The Keeper (Redeyes Remix)
07 – Eyesdown (Appleblim & Komonazmuk Remix)
08 – Recurring (Mice Parade Remix)

icon streaming




Partager cet article